Рассвет с площадки храма Кунджапури

Kunjapuri Devi temple, located near Rishikesh in Uttarakhand district in India-is one of the most revered Hindu shrines. This temple is clearly visible. It is located on top of a mountain, in the Northern part of Rishikesh.

The legend of Kunjapuri

According to the Skanda Purana, Sati’s father, king Daksha was very displeased when his daughter married Shiva. He committed Yajna (the fire ritual), on that invited all gods, except Shiva. When this happened, Sati became angry with her father and committed suicide by jumping into the fire. When Shiva learned of this, he extinguished the fire and, picking up the body of sati, wandered with Him for a long time on The Himalayan ranges.

Vishnu realized that if all the necessary funeral rites were not performed, Sati could not be reborn. Therefore, with the help of Sudarshan chakra – a rotating disc of fire – he cut her body into pieces. There are a total of 52 Shakti piths – places in the vicinity of India and Nepal, where parts of Sati’s body fell to the ground.

Kunjapuri temple is one such place. It attracts thousands of visitors all year round, especially in April and October, during Navaratri. It also hosts festive events during the festival of Dussehra.

Sati was later reborn as the goddess Parvati and became the wife of Shiva again

How to get to Kunjapuri

Kunjapuri temple is located at an altitude of 1645 meters from sea level. The distance from Rishikesh to the temple is about 25 kilometers. You can get to Kunjapuri by taxi or motorcycle, the main thing is to find the way in the dark, otherwise instead of dawn you will come to the sunset).

Kunjapuri temple is open to the public from 6 AM to 7 PM.

The sunrise in Kunjapuri

This tour is very popular among tourists. Both foreigners and residents of India like to go up to the temple before sunrise to enjoy the nature and take pictures of the sunrise in the valley. From the observation deck of Kunjapuri overlooking the panorama of the Himalayan snow-capped peaks (the mountains of Gangotri, Swarga Rohini and Chaukhamba). Also from the temple you can see the northern part of Rishikesh, Haridwar and the Dune valley, which runs to the South.

Кунджапури — храм Деви, расположенный вблизи города Ришикеш в районе Уттаракханд в Индии — является одной из самых почитаемых индуистских святынь. Этот храм хорошо видно, он расположен на вершине горы, в северной части города Ришикеш.

Легенды о Кунджапури

Согласно Сканда-Пуране, отец Сати, король Дакша был очень недоволен, когда его дочь вышла замуж за Шиву. Он совершил яджну (огненный ритуал), на которую пригласил всех богов, кроме Шивы. Когда это произошло, Сати рассердилась на своего отца и покончила с собой, прыгнув в огонь. Когда Шива узнал об этом, он погасил огонь и, подняв на руки тело Сати, долго бродил с ним по Гималайским хребтам.

Вишну понял, что если все необходимые похоронные обряды не будут совершены, Сати не сможет переродиться. Поэтому он при помощи Сударшана-чакры — вращающегося огненного диска — разрезал ее тело на части. Всего существует 52 шакти питхи — мест в окрестностях Индии и Непала, где части тела Сати упали на землю.

Храм Кунджапури — это одно из таких мест. Оно привлекает тысячи посетителей круглый год, особенно в апреле и октябре, во время Наваратри. Здесь также проводятся торжественные мероприятия во время фестиваля Душера.

Сати впоследствии переродилась, как богиня Парвати и снова стала женой Шивы

Как добраться до Кунджапури

Храм Кунджапури располагается на высоте 1645 метров от уровня моря. Расстояние от Ришикеша до храма составляет около 25 километров. Добраться до Кунджапури можно на такси или мотоцикле, главное найти дорогу в темноте, а то вместо рассвета можно приехать на закат. Храм Кунджапури открыт для посещения с 6 утра и до 7 вечера.

Встреча рассвета в Кунджапури

Эта экскурсия очень популярна среди туристов. Как иностранцы, так и жители Индии любят подняться к храму еще до восхода солнца, чтобы насладиться природой и сделать фотографии рассвета в долине. Со смотровой площадки Кунджапури открывается вид на панораму Гималайских заснеженных вершин (гор Ганготри, Сварга Рохини и Чаухамба). Также из храма можно увидеть северную часть города Ришикеш, Харидвар и Дунскую долину, пролегающую к югу.