Lakshman Jhula, a 140-meter suspended bridge over the Ganges at an altitude of 20 meters is situated about 4 km from the center of Rishikesh. The area around this bridge is also called Lakshman Jhula.

Center map

According to myths, the bridge got its name from the Hindu Lord Rama’s brother, Lakshman, who crossed the Ganges, building a bridge of jute ropes. In 1889, jute ropes were replaced with iron cables. Later, during a flood in October 1924, the suspended bridge was ruined by Himalayan streams. In the 1930s, the Lakshman Jhula bridge was rebuilt from iron and steel and was opened to the public in 1939. 2 km downstream, a similar bridge called Ram Jhula was soon built.

Мост Лакшман Джула в Ришикеше
Мост Лакшманджула в Ришикеше

Lakshman Jhula is one of the most visited places in Rishikesh. At an end of the bridge you can see the famous 13-storeyed Tera Manzil Temple, also known as Trayambakeshwar Temple, beautifully decorated with idols of numerous Hindu gods and goddesses. In addition to its religious significance, the temple is also famous for providing a wonderful view of the surroundings.

Храм Траямбакешвар в Ришикеше
Thirteen-storeyed Trayambakeshwar Temple in Lakshman Jhula

Nearby you can see the Lakshman Temple, which is famous for its beautiful statues and pictures. The Lakshman Temple also plays an important role in Hindu mythology. According to legends, it was here, in Rishi Kunda, in the Lakshman Temple, that lord Rama and his brother Lakshmana took bath in the Ganges so as to wash off their sins after the murder of Ravana.

Вид на мост Лакшманджула в Ришикеше
Вид на мост с храма Траямбакешвар

View of the Lakshman Jhula Bridge in Rishikesh

View of the bridge from Trayambakeshwar Temple

Local stores on both sides of the bridge attract tourists with their colorful display-windows. Many stores sell figures of Hindu gods and goddesses, prayer beads from Rudraksha seeds, handicrafts, precious and semiprecious stones and articles from them and from silver, books on Hindu culture, yoga, etc. There are many cafes and restaurants with local and international cuisine on both sides of the bridge.

The area around Lakshman Jhula is the center of life in Rishikesh – the cacophony of mantras, music, the Ganges, signals of motorbikes and voices of locals and tourists.

July 2019 Update: Lakshman Jhula Bridge is closed forever. Instead, a new bridge will be built.

Лакшман Джула

Примерно в 4 км от центра города Ришикеш находится Лакшман Джула, подвесной мост длиной 140 метров через реку Ганга на высоте 20 метров. Местность вокруг этого моста также носит название Лакшман Джула.

Согласно мифам, мост получил свое название от брата индуистского лорда Рамы Лакшмана, который пересек реку Ганга, соорудив мост из джутовых канатов. В 1889 году джутовые канаты были заменены на железные тросы.  Позднее, во время наводнения в октябре 1924 года подвесной мост был смыт гималайскими потоками. В 1930-х годах мост Лакшман Джула был перестроен из железа и стали и был открыт для публики в 1939 году в том виде, в котором и находится по сей день. 2 км ниже по течению вскоре был построен похожий мост Рам Джула.

Мост Лакшман Джула в Ришикеше
Мост Лакшманджула в Ришикеше

Лакшман Джула, является одним из самых посещаемых мест в Ришикеше. На одном конце моста находится знаменитый тринадцатиэтажный храм Тера Манзил, также известный как храм Траямбакешвар, красиво украшенный идолами многочисленных индуистских богов и богинь. Помимо своей религиозной значимости, храм также известен тем, что обеспечивает прекрасный вид на окрестности.

Храм Траямбакешвар в Ришикеше
Тринадцатиэтажный храм Траямбакешвар в Лакшманджуле

Неподалеку находится храм Лакшман, который известен своими прекрасными скульптурами и картинами. Храм Лакшман также занимает высокое место в индуистской мифологии. Согласно легендам, именно здесь, в Риши Кунде, в храме Лакшман, Господь Рама и его брат Лакшман принимали омовение в водах реки Ганга, чтобы очистить свои грехи после убийства Раваны.

Вид на мост Лакшманджула в Ришикеше
Вид на мост с храма Траямбакешвар

Местные магазины по обеим сторонам моста привлекают туристов своими красочными витринами. Множество торговых лавок продают фигуры индуистских богов и богинь, рудракши, ремесленные изделия, драгоценные камни и изделия из серебра и драгоценных и полудрагоценных камней, книги о индуистской культуре, йогу и т. д. Множество кафе и ресторанов с местной и интернациональной кухней по обеим сторонам моста.

Область вокруг Лакшмана Джула — это центр жизнедеятельности в Ришикеше — какофония мантр, музыки, Ганги, сигналов мотобайков и голосов местных жителей и туристов.

Обновление от июль 2019: Мост Лакшамнджула закрыт навсегда. Вместо него будет построен новый мост.