Devprayag is a Holy town in the state of Uttarakhand in Northern India, is one of the five sacred confluence of the rivers Anapra and an important place of pilgrimage. Here the rivers Bhagirathi and Alaknanda merge into one, which gets the name – Ganges. It is also the winter parsonage of Badrinath.

Devprayag is about 70 km from Rishikesh on the road to Badrinath and is an important pilgrimage point of Char Dham Yatra. It is a very beautiful and serene place, dotted with ancient temples in the midst of lush greenery. Near Devprayag there are two suspension bridges – Bhagirathi and Alaknanda.

Places to visit in Devprayag

One of the main places to visit during a trip to Devprayag is the sacred Raghunath temple (one of the 108 most important temples in India). It was built of colossal monolithic stones about ten thousand years ago. The temple stands on a terrace in the upper part of the city and consists of an irregular pyramid topped by a white dome with a Golden ball and a spire. In front of the temple is a statue of Garuda. Behind the temple and just above the hill is the cave of Vamana, and next to it is the stone throne of Lord Rama. The temple, along with other buildings of the city, was destroyed by an earthquake in 1803, but was subsequently repaired.

Пещера в Девпраяг
The priests performed the evening ritual in the cave of Devprayag

Nearby is the peak Dasaratha. There is a rock Dasarathy, which presumably is the place where it is believed that Raja of Dasharat practiced his penance. A small stream Shant, down from Dasharatha, named in honor of Shanti, the daughter of Raja Dasaratha. It is considered sacred.

Religious ablutions take place in 2 pools dug in the rock at the confluence of the Holy streams – on Bhagirathi known as Brahma Kunda and another on Alaknanda called Vasisht Kunda.

Other obligatory visit to a Holy place in your journey to Devprayag include Baital Kund, Brahma Kund, Surya Kund and Vasistha Kund; the Indradyumna Tirth, Postanal Tirth, Tirth vary; Puspawati; I Basically and Werahera; shrines to the Buddha, Bhusunde, Durga and Vishveshvara; and a temple dedicated to Bharata.

A tour to Devprayag will introduce you to this sacred city, which in fact marks the beginning of the sacred river Ganges.

Девпраяг — священный город в штате Уттаракханд на севере Индии, является одним из пяти священных слияний рек  — Панчапраяг и важным местом паломничества. Здесь реки Бхагиратхи и Алакнанда сливаются в одну, которая получает имя — Ганга. Это также зимний дом священников Бадринатха.

Девпраяг находится примерно в 70 км от Ришикеша по дороге в Бадринатх и является важным пунктом паломничества Чар Дхам Ятра. Это очень красивое и безмятежное место, усеянное древними храмами посреди пышной зелени. Возле Девпраяга есть два подвесных моста — Бхагиратхи и Алакнанда.

Что посетить в Девпраяг

Одним из основных мест, которые нужно посетить во время поездки в Девпраяг, является священный храм Рагхунатх (один из 108 самых важных храмов в Индии), который, как полагают, был построен из колоссальных монолитных камней около десяти тысяч лет назад. Храм стоит на террасе в верхней части города и состоит из неправильной пирамиды, увенчанной белым куполом с золотым шаром и шпилем. Перед храмом находится статуя Гаруды. За храмом и чуть выше холма находится пещера Ваманы, а рядом — каменный трон лорда Рама. Храм, наряду с другими зданиями города, был разрушен в результате землетрясения в 1803 году, но впоследствии были отремонтирован.

Пещера в Девпраяг
Священники проводят вечерний ритуал в пещере Девпраяга

Рядом также находится пик Дашаратачал, в котором есть скала, известная как Дашаратшила, которая предположительно является местом, где, как считается, Раджа Дашарат практиковал свою аскезу. Небольшой ручей Шанта, спускающийся с Дашаратхала, назван в честь Шанты, дочери Раджа Дашарата и считается священным.

Религиозные омовения происходят в 2 бассейнах, выкопанных в скале у слияния святых потоков — на Бхагиратхи, известной как Брахм кунда, и другой на Алакнанде, называемой Васишт кунда.

Другие обязательные посещения святых мест в вашем путешествии в Девпраяг включают Байталь Кунду, Брахма Кунду, Сурья Кунду и Васиштх Кунду; Индрадьюмна Тирт, Пушьямал Тирт, Варах Тирт; Пушпаватика; Баситалила и Варахисила; святыни Бхайравы, Бхушанди, Дурги и Вишвешвара; и храм, посвященный Бхарате.

Тур в Девпраяг познакомит вас с этим священным городом, который по сути знаменует собой начало священной реки Ганга.